

Gerbera
Edition
October
2008
81 Cullen Street
Nimbin 2480
phone: 6689-1148
email: nimbin.
goodtimes@gmail.com

Half of Lismore City Council elected on preferences as...

## Balance of power shifts throughout region

**by Trish Clough** It took the N.S.W. Electoral Commission 10 days to

determine the composition of the Lismore City Council after the elections on 13th September.

Five of the ten councillor positions were decided by preferences, which is a very strong reason for voters to allocate their preferences. With a complex voting document, many people choose the option of voting "1" above the line, when they could make their vote count twice by having more of a say

In counting the election, firstly any candidate achieving a specific number of votes (called a "quota") is automatically elected. The quota depends on the number of votes and the number of available places to be filled.

with preferences.

In this election the quota was 2150. The candidates achieving a quota were Isaac Smith (who inherited all of Jenny Dowell's Country Labor votes automatically when Jenny was elected as Mayor), John Chant, Neil Marks, and Vanessa Ekins (The Greens).

Any votes left over after the above candidates achieved a quota are then transferred down the team ticket. The number of these votes transferred down the team is reduced in value to take into account the percentage of their voters who did not allocate preferences. This step allowed Country Labor's Ray Houston to be elected with a quota, but left the number 2 candidates on the Chant, Marks and Greens teams short of a quota. In the count so far, only five candidates

have been elected.

The next stage of the counting then allocates preferences from the candidate with the least number of votes as this candidate is eliminated. These preferences top up the votes already received, (including those transferred down a team). The process of eliminating the candidate with the least number of votes continues until there are just ten candidates remaining. As clarified above, five have already been elected, and the remaining five are decided by this allocation of preferences.

The next candidate elected is current councillor Graham Meineke (elected on preferences mainly from the Marks and Chant teams), followed by Peter Graham, on John Chant's team. Peter received an unremarkable 25

primary votes (after 4 years on council), received 1738 votes transferred down the team, and was elected on preferences, largely from Neil Marks' team.

The remaining councillors in order of election were Dave Yarnall from Roads and Services Action Party (preferences mainly from Marks and The Greens), Simon Clough from Our Sustainable Future Party, (with preferences strongly from The Greens), and Gianpiero Battista from Action Now (with preferences mainly from The Greens and Marks).

Long-standing councillor Frank Swientek narrowly missed out on re-election, with only 20 votes separating him from Battista.

For the first time, the balance of power on the



**Victorious.** Federal MP Janelle Saffin (left) toasts the Labor victory in Lismore on election night with new mayor, Jenny Dowell.

Lismore City Council is in the hands of the "progressives", with a resounding endorsement to Country Labor's Jenny Dowell as Mayor, her team of Isaac Smith and Ray Houston, Vanessa Ekins with a significant swing to The Greens, Simon Clough

making Our Sustainable Future a focus in local government, and Dave Yarnall at the helm of Roads and Services.

With thanks to the voters who used their preferences wisely, we can look forward to a vibrant future for the Lismore local council area.

## Nimbin women triumph in Grand Final upset



oy Nigel Hayes

The Nimbin Headers 4th Division women's

team put together a wonderful, controlled game of football to comprehensively win the 2008 Grand Final on a warm sunny Sunday at Oakes Oval, Lismore.

They showed their class both on and off the field to trounce the Minor Premiers Bangalow 5 goals to 1.

The halftime team talk must have been a beauty, as the women came out firing in the second stanza to overpower their rivals and score some fantastic goals. The Bayles twins Tara and Kirra had too much pace and finesse for the defenders to cope with and both found the back of the net.

Chicken Laurie showed some deft control to do likewise and Tracey Linton pounced on a loose ball and produced her best kick of the year to put the issue beyond doubt.

Jedda Bayles was a worthy winner of the FFNC Player of the Match award as she marshaled the strongly committed defence to shut out the Bangalow strikers in the second half. Jarra and Sarah were tenacious in their tackling, while goalkeeper Jenna Sleet was solid and her long kicks often sent the team forward into attack.

In fact every player contributed to the best of her ability, and all fully deserve to be called winners. Robbie also deserves recognition for his time, energy and expertise in coaching the team to a very successful year and this very well deserved victory.

The only sour point of the day came after the match with some ungracious comments from the losing Captain. These low remarks from a club and team with a record of being poor losers, fired up the large crowd of Headers supporters who had travelled to cheer their team on and to share in the famous victory.

Ultimately these poorly-chosen comments only made the presentation of the winner's medallions and the Premiership trophy all the more enjoyable, and ensured the celebrations were all the more ecstatic. Jedda's acceptance speech, on the other hand, struck just the right note and displayed why we are all proud to call Nimbin home and the Headers our Club.

Well done to all concerned!







